J. Herbin – Amber de Birmanie & Rouge Grenat

Continue the journey with J. Herbin, Amber de Birmanie & Rouge Grenat, I believe those 2 are the original 25 colors (JH release another 5 or 6 later).

Amber de Birmanie: Still not a big fan of yellow/orange/chrome/brown color inks. This bottle is not really brown nor close to the amber color I have in mind (the closer one would be Amber from Pelikan). After I take the photo for the review, I need to correct myself that Amber de Birmanie, just like Amber from Pelikan, gives a lot of shading when drying completely. A good bottle to explain what shading is. The drying time is slightly longer but it did not bleed through UCCU that can be a good daily color if you like this tone.

C/P value: 70/100, it’s about average for me.

Rouge Grenat: another red ink. Somehow it gives me the feeling of Sailor Shu-Urushi but on the more solid side. This bottle did not leave rooms for shading and showed the attitude “here I am, admire me now.” About the average drying time for red inks, it bled through UCCU that became the weak point when comparing to Shu-Urushi.

C/P value: 75/100, more fore the price and availability.

Leave a comment